Search icon

22 councils receive good egg awards

News Section Icon Published 02/07/2009

22 councils have received a 'Good Egg Award' for committing to ditch the battery cage egg in favour of eggs from free-range hens.

The councils' pioneering move across areas including staff catering, schools and care homes will ensure more than 10,000 hens supplying over 2.7 million eggs each year will be spared a life of misery in a cage.

Compassion in World Farming wants to encourage local governments to support higher standards of animal welfare when purchasing and supplying food and meals. Our cage-free councils campaign, launched in 2007, has seen an increasing number of councils taking the welfare of hens seriously by moving to café-free eggs in their catering.

Compassion in World Farming's Campaigns Co-ordinator, Eloise Shavelar said: 'We congratulate all of these councils for going free-range and hope that other councils will follow their example. All local authorities have a clear opportunity to lead the way in animal welfare standards, ahead of the 2012 EU ban on barren battery cages."

"Central and local government offices are important users of eggs - they employ over 2.5 million staff with most providing food for employees and to supply local contracts including schools, residential units and social services."

The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) has recently encouraged public sector bodies to move away from using battery eggs whether used as shell eggs or in products containing eggs. With Defra's support we now hope even more councils will make the move.


Join our cage-free council campaign by urging your local council to switch to barn or free-range eggs. There are lots of good reasons for councils to switch to cage-free eggs from consumer concerns to supporting sustainable farming. Please help us sweep this change across the country.

Click here to find out more

Full list of council winners:

  • Bath & North East Somerset Council
  • Carmarthenshire County Council
  • Derbyshire County Council
  • Devon County Council
  • East Ayrshire Council
  • Havant Borough Council
  • Hertfordshire County Council
  • Isle of Wight Council
  • Lancashire County Council
  • London Borough of Barnet
  • London Borough of Enfield
  • Midlothian Council
  • New Forest District Council
  • Newcastle City Council
  • North Yorkshire County Council
  • Nottinghamshire County Council
  • South Gloucestershire Council
  • Southampton City Council
  • Warrington Borough Council
  • Warwickshire County Council
  • Waverley Borough Council
  • Worcestershire County Council

You are using an outdated browser which we do not support. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience and security.

If you have any further questions regarding this, or any other matter, please get in touch with us at We aim to respond to all queries within two working days. However, due to the high volume of correspondence that we receive, it may occasionally take a little longer. Please do bear with us if this is the case. Alternatively, if your query is urgent, you can contact our Supporter Engagement Team on +44 (0)1483 521 953 (lines open Monday to Friday 9am to 5pm).